Idea for Prepaid/Discounted Legal Services

I am a rather new poster here and not many of you are from where I am so I think that this is a great place to ask for opinions on an idea that I had. You can be as brutally honest as you like because you do not know me.

I am an attorney. Like many attorneys or for that matter any small business person I am always thinking about ways to get additional business and cash flow. My idea is to market prepaid or discounted legal services to providers and maybe hobbyist. Why you may ask? It is because LEO may think that you have committed a crime or two. While we know that is the farthest thing from the truth, it is just a fact of life.

Here is the meat of my idea. For a low monthly rate say $70.00 to $100.00 or $840.00 to $1,200.00, per year I would provide:
  • Ten Phone Consultations/year
  • In Office Consulations for $75.00
  • Two Free Appearances for Traffic Tickets/year
  • Discounted Representation for Other Criminal Charges
  • Discount on Personal Injury Representations
  • A 24/7 phone number to arrange bail

I would also like to have some value added things like seminars on safety and website marketing. However, there maybe ethical implications with these. I am certain you other attorneys would point that out.

This is not an all inclusive list and this idea is in its infancy. Therefore, I welcome any and all suggestions. I also want to know if you think the idea sucks and simply won't work.
  • GNG
  • 08-18-2012, 07:26 PM
This wouldn't interest me in the least. There's a reason I'm on P411, and there's a reason I only see well-reviewed, established providers.

This may work for those that troll BP and accept its inherent risks...but not me.
I'll take office visit for $75 lol (sorry couldn't resist) You might try putting this in the legal/business section as well, good luck

Roger- I think you are right. A provider friend of mine expressed the same thought.
Pre Paid legal... $19.95 a month...