Lest We Forget: My 9/11. . .and the Day After

My 9/11 and the day after

Sept 11, 2001

My 9/11
in the fall of 2001 I was working at a VA hospital in a major city. The TV in the patient waiting room was always on. I came in to get a patient when someone said, "Hey Doc, . . .you gotta see this." (I am not a doctor.). The first plane had just struck.

We all assumed that a tragic accident had happened. Someone mentioned that a WW-II bomber had crashed into the Empire State Building at one time. I came back into the waiting area about fifteen minutes later to get another patient and the second plane hi while we watched. Some old veteran there said, "Well we're at war with somebody now."

As the morning unfolded (the Pentagon, flight 93) there was a palpable sense of frustrated anger. One patient there that day was a WW-II era Army Ranger. I will always remember his stifled anger and the silent tear; as he was remembering the young man he once was and wishing he could rise from his wheelchair to again be the fierce warrior who had assaulted the cliffs of Pont du Hoc at dawn on D-Day.

Sept 12, 2001
The Next Day
At the end of the work day on September 11th, 2001 we all knew that the world had changed, but it wasn't clear just how or how much. In the locker room, I chose to bring my work keys and work ID home with me . . .usually I did not.