Digital Cameras/SLR Cameras

Any recommendations on a new digital camera? I remember seeing the Nikon J1 commercial with Ashton Kutcher on it and I liked how you could record video and take pictures during the video. My range on this is $400 to $700 if its good one. Not looking for a $100 you can get at Walmart or anything either. Im no professional photographer, but I would like a camera to take good pics and videos for vacations, parties or anything really.

Just thought if anybody here had any suggestions since we have a very diverse group on eccie at any given moment. I know there are photographers here too. Looking foward to yalls input. Thanks

homie
There are about seventy-eleven-hundred and four perfessional and semi-pro picture takers on this site, so there will be better info than this to follow. But, it's, IMO,all about the quality of the lenses if you're going to get serious. If you're after a really good point-n-shoot SLR digital camera, Nikon, Canon, Pentax all make good ones at the entry level. Just be sure that you get a camera body that allows you to change lenses if you get the bug real bad. And since, like everything else, cameras are now mini-computers, be sure that the lenses can be "read" by the camera's processor in order to get the most out of automatic settings.
In that price range, homie can't get anything other than a sophisticated point and shoot (if he wants video) unless he's willing to start with an entry level DSLR with a single kit lens (which will have a very short range).