Security Matters! Your hobby phone is not enough.

This week, I had dinner and drinks with one of my long-retired ATFs who came to visit Houston from the east coast. As a provider in Dallas, she gave a younger version of myself a very welcome start in the hobby and we remained friends since...with occasional communications after her retirement. To my surprise, she wanted to thank me for some advise and help I provided years ago. Apparently it had come back to help her immensely in the last year in dealing with her divorce and the LE.

Years ago, I was a computer security consultant and the topic of how to secure her business came up when we got together. Typically folks ask me what anti-virus or firewall software to use, but I had advised her that, "The best security is not about installing the right software, but rather applying to consistent procedures with the tools to get the level of security she wanted!" In other words, it makes no sense having a hobby phone if you leave it laying around. Or, maintain a calendar of her appointments with other confidential information on her password-protected laptop that she loans to her friends. At the time, she had already planned to retire "within 5 years" and she wanted to "disappear" after that. With a website, photos, and assorted accounts at hobby sites, it seemed like a tall order. So we put together a set of secure tools (i.e. a laptop with encrypted drives, hard-to-trace hobby phone, anonymous web browsing, etc) and procedures (i.e. selectively obscuring photos, track list of all her hobby accounts) that would effectively allow her to "disappear" when she decided to finally retire. Which she did successfully a few years later.