NCAA Tournament bracket questions

• yeesh
  • 03-15-2011, 05:38 PM
Tournament time is here, and I was curious about how many folks here are doing brackets-

Are you filling out more than one?

Are you playing for fun, or in a pool?

Do you research team strengths/weaknesses, or do you just "wing it"?

And finally-

Who ya got?

...or do you have no interest in brackets (or NCAA Basketball) at all?
I am a Syracuse grad so naturally I root for the Orange. Cedric Golden in today's Austin American Statesman picked SU to go to the championship game where they would lose to Kansas. Others pick SU to lose to Xavier in the 2nd round. If they make it to the elite 8 I would be ecstatic. Hate their point guard.

I like OSU and Kansas out of the two toughest regions. OSU, North Carolina, Syracuse and Kentucky all in the East. Kansas, Notre Dame, Purdue, and Louisville all in the Southwest. Other regions have mainly flawed teams.
I would pick my Coogs to win it all but if I did so it would have to be in the Woman's bracket. And as much as I hate to admit, it probably won't happen there either! Eat 'em up Lady Coogs!

Since the Coogs were not invited to the Men's dance, I am pulling for my 2nd favorite home team to pull off a major upset against Duke in the Western Regional and then go on to win the whole shooting match. Hook 'em!

What can I say, I am a home team kinda guy!
UT can definitely go a long way in the tournament -- or lose to Oakland in the first round. Poor free throw shooting. Lack of a true center. No real point guard who can break down defenses (and I do love Cory Joseph). Stagnant offense at times.

Defensively they are great, although Kansas destroyed them. I don't think they are in one of the stronger regions, so anything is possible.
Depends on which UT team shows up. They'd be damned near undefeated if the shot 70% from the FT line.