why take out the starting pitcher

We have seen it several times in the playoffs - very few hits or runs when the starting pitcher is pitching - put in the reliever, and the scoring starts ! The game last night was a good example of this for the Astros.
Because outside of Dallas & Justin none of the other "starters" for the Astros are good for more than 4 to 5 innings. They would be gassed, and less effective then Giles was yesterday.

Also have you ever played organized fast pitch baseball?
Because outside of Dallas & Justin none of the other "starters" for the Astros are good for more than 4 to 5 innings. They would be gassed, and less effective then Giles was yesterday.

Also have you ever played organized fast pitch baseball?
I've been asking that for 20 years or more.. it happens all the time, take out a Starter who is pitching well, new guy can't find the plate, gets whacked. dumbest metric in MLB, # of pitches.. fuck, when I was a kid, Wilbur Wood pitched both games of a double-header, complete games in both. Fergie Jenkins would go 50% more innings, year after year, than the top innings pitched leader gets today. I don't buy the "gassed" argument for a minute.. what I do buy is the Players Union, and Pussy Pitchers who gross millions of dollars a year.. now they have that new stat.. a "quality start", LOL.. Hell, in the 70's you would be derided for what passes as a "quality start" today.
  • xtrem
  • 10-29-2017, 01:41 PM