Austin Employers Suck!

Since I was laid off in early August I've literally busted ass 12-15 hours a day to find a new gig.

In that time I've had two interviews. One I thought went really really with a restaurant chain, the other with a local auto dealership group that turned out to be -bar none- the most unprofessional people I have crossed paths with in my entire career.

I've even tried to get jobs waiting tables by walking into restaurants and know responses.

Anyone else as frustrated as I am with the job market?

This may be TMI, but I have done web marketing SEO/SEM/PPC/Analytics & Social Media for over 14 years. I'm not a website designer, I'm the person that drives traffic to the site, ensures conversions, and tracks it's success.

Thanks for listening!
Why are you dealing with car dealerships and restaurants when you can do the computer thing? That is obviously the way to go. Maybe you should get into webdesign too.
I've applied at countless agencies and tech companies. The biggest issue I have is that I'm way over qualified for most of the positions or the perception is that my salary requirements are to high.

I don't have the creative ability it requires to be a good web designer. I have however been able to take bad web designs and make them work.
One I thought went really really with a restaurant chain, .............................. .............................. .............................. ......
I've even tried to get jobs waiting tables by walking into restaurants and know responses.
Originally Posted by l81morex
Not trying to be critical here, but you might want to brush up on your language skills a bit.
No offense taken.
  • tron
  • 01-19-2011, 08:50 PM
Set up a profiles on Dice.com and linkedin.com. Join any relevant groups on linkedin, and look for jobs posted in those groups.