Trademarks and Internet Postings

• Dingo
  • 03-28-2014, 11:54 AM
If a business trademarks it's name, say Debbie's Diner does it have any legal recourse to prevent the use of its name in an internet post I.e the local food review ?
Do you mean the use of the name of a business in a post regarding THAT BUSINESS?
  • Dingo
  • 03-28-2014, 01:00 PM
Yes say it was review and they said Debbie Diners meatloaf sucked, could they forbid from using the name Debbie Diner in the review.
I'm not a trademark lawyer, but common sense tells me the answer to your question is not only "no," it's "HELL NO!" Such a restriction would violate free speech.
  • Dingo
  • 03-28-2014, 03:22 PM
Ok thanks Sj.
The interest to be protected by trademarking the name of a business is the exclusive use of the name, so that a competitor may not also use the name and divert business away from the rightful owner of the name. Protection against the use of the name by others referring to THAT business isn't part of trademark protection. We're free in the U.S. to criticize businesses without fear of litigation. Lawyers, and maybe some laypersons, will be familiar with the increasing adoption of anti-SLAPP statutes by states, including Texas. ('SLAPP' is an acronym for 'Strategic Lawsuits Against Public Participation.') SLAPPS are usually filed by a business against a consumer who posts negative comments about the business on the Internet. Anti-SLAPP statutes allow for dismissal of such lawsuits soon after they're filed unless the plaintiff can show the court proof of the validity of its case.

This article is somewhat on point, and notes: "...trademark law specifically exempts noncommercial speech so that the law will not infringe on the First Amendment.... Criticism would be pointless if the person cannot name the company they are bashing by using its trademarks." See Trademark Education & Information, "What does the First Amendment protect?"