Expected Behavior / Protocol for Last Minute Appointments

This is not in anger, but in curiosity and am hoping some members (and/or providers) can offer insight. I am fairly new to the hobby so I suspect this is just acceptable behavior. I will not give specific names or details.

I am posting this after returning from a busted last minute appointment. Often times, I will feel the urge to see a provider and will want to satisfy that day. I understand that schedules are busy and last minute appointments are not preferred. Twice now (within the last couple of weeks), I have set up a last minute appointment late night. The providers in question are on ECCIE (and well reviewed), but have posted an ad on BP indicating availability at the moment. Both times, the provider guides me to text from intersection / parking lot and then radio silence. I wait a bit and call every 10 minutes but nothing. The first time this happened to me, I saw a review the next day for that provider that apparently took place in roughly the same window they agreed to see me.

I fully understand that last minute appointments are not preferred and would completely be okay with the provider telling me over the phone (or text) that she would rather not see me. I get the impression that busted appointments like this actually happen quite frequently. Am I expecting too much by at least hoping for a text / phone call to indicate the provider has changed their mind?

I don't want to this to turn into an argument or lengthy discussion. Just want quick insight as to whether this is common and I just got lucky when I started or if this is not the normal behavior.