Appropriate wait time for a request response

As a noob I was curious to an acceptable wait time for a response from a provider in which one has sent a request. I thought about posting on the national board but from my research it seems that we hobbyist seem to be blessed here in Texas and especially the Dallas area as we have quite a market that doesn't reflect much of the rest of the country. So with a large and busy market I want to get more local opinions on what is acceptable and should be expected. I sent out my first request almost 24 hours ago and haven't heard a peep back. Should I wait a little longer or move on and find another provider that I may be interested in? I understand depending on the provider that some may be busier than others and may not have time to respond but I also understand some may never respond if they feel you are not compatible. I would hope the hobbyist here could handle rejection and accept it just as they reject specific providers for similar reasons. I am a big boy and am not "whining" about rejection however I would expect providers to understand my time is equally important to me and I would rather know and move on rather than sit and wait for days for a response before I try and make another arrangement. Am I out of line here? Or should I not care and start multiple request and take the first that replies and just ignore the rest? To me the latter would seem to waste the providers time which I want to be respectful of just as I would hope they would be respectful of my time. So it all boils down to how long is an acceptable wait time fore a response in a busy market place such as this? Opinions and thoughts appreciated. Thanks
There is no set time, just whatever you are comfortable with, especially giving the time frame when you would like to see someone.