Rainbows and Unicorns... and a few Trolls

I'm not a prolific poster (in fact this is my first after the flip). But given the tone of a few of the threads that have gone on recently, I just wanted to make a couple observations.

I enjoy spirited discussions and welcome alternate opinions. While some of recent posts have yielded shocking and facinating insights (from both sides of the fence), I do feel that there has been some excessive trolling going on. Oh its been entertaining, but in a f'ed up car crash kind of way.

So why do I care? Two reasons really. First is I just like folk to treat eachother with as much compassion as they can manage.

But secondly, I like hearing from the ladies. As much as I enjoy the entertaining zings and barbs being thrown, I love hearing from the ladies. Even - or even especially - when I disagree. Example: Knowing that my non-platinum economic status classifies me as a "bottom feeder" in certain circles is valuable info on a number of levels.

Also: please consider the noobie's perspective. While some trollfests may have a rich history of colorful characters and events, without the historical context... well... you get my point I hope.

I *like* to get a feel for personality before I commit -- so I like female participation in the forums. But I'd like girls with backbones of less-than-industrial-strength-titanium to feel welcome as well. A new girl should feel this is a safe place to be expression-wise.

*Really* not meaning to sound preachy. Just some thoughts from a dude not part of the inner-sanctum
oops. lol. I'm new and I already feel very welcome! Thanks!
I'm not a prolific poster (in fact this is my first after the flip). But given the tone of a few of the threads that have gone on recently, I just wanted to make a couple observations.