Tamales: A thread

So who has the names to drop here of places to get the good tamales here in DFW?

Personally, looking for the basics....masa, lard, pork, a husk and some foil. Bring on some chicken, beef and jalapeno as well. That's what I'm looking for. But feel free to share some non-traditional styles such as, idk, organic, Costa Rican, whatever too..

Anyone got a steady shop, taqueria or truck to share here? Looking for actual businesses here, not so much your home boy or "this lady" that may/may not be at the corner of so and so street on Saturday mornings...

DON'T BE SHY
There’s a place in Oak Cliff. Near Hampton and Illinois called Tia Dora’s Bakery. They have some pretty good ones. Their chicken is my favorite.. it has a bit of a kick to it. I’m normally a pork tamale guy buy from there, the chicken is king to me. You usually have to go early because they sell out fast.
I’m far from an expert, but try Rocio’s Tamales in the Dallas Farmer’s Market on Saturday and Sundays.
You guys are too far north for the good stuff
First time I had a tamale when I was a kid, I didn't know it needed to be unwrapped first.
  • BLM69
  • 12-01-2022, 09:12 AM
So who has the names to drop here of places to get the good tamales here in DFW?

Personally, looking for the basics....masa, lard, pork, a husk and some foil. Bring on some chicken, beef and jalapeno as well. That's what I'm looking for. But feel free to share some non-traditional styles such as, idk, organic, Costa Rican, whatever too..

Anyone got a steady shop, taqueria or truck to share here? Looking for actual businesses here, not so much your home boy or "this lady" that may/may not be at the corner of so and so street on Saturday mornings...

DON'T BE SHY Originally Posted by Bald Bryan
Those sound like central American tamales, much better than the dry Mexican tamales
You guys are too far north for the good stuff Originally Posted by Precious_b