No connection and how to prevent it.

I posted this in another thread and was told it needed it's own thread since it was too off topic. (And the mod was right)

Hypothetical situation. I'm using BDSM as an example but the answer would work for any specific question. Some providers list BDSM along with other things. Maybe there is one that I really would like to meet but I am not into BDSM. Some of her reviews don't mention anything about it. I can't ask her in an email, phone or text if she can also be (not sure if this is the right wording) the girl next door type too.

Since I am also a newbie, my understanding is that if I asked a question like that in a PM, I would probably get ignored. Since I can't ask her ahead of time and we meet and I find that her place is filled with BDSM stuff, that might be a turn off to me so no connection between me and the provider and I might not want to stay. I agree that I should pay her for her time whether it be a partial or full payment. Basically how can someone avoid that situation and loss of money without scaring off the provider all together by asking her outright since I can't seem to be able to word it a way that won't get me ignored in an email, text, call, or pm? Personally, I wouldn't blame her in this situation. You never know, there might be a time in the future that I DO want to experiment with it.

Note: Yes I reworded this a little from original so it "might" make since as a standalone question.
I posted this in another thread and was told it needed it's own thread since it was too off topic. (And the mod was right)