No references...what info do you provide?

I'm new to this hobby and have no references. My first contact asked me for name (fine), cell (ok) and work info (what!?). I walked away from the deal. It seemed too risky. What is your experience?
  • gushi
  • 03-03-2010, 09:54 AM
You have 2 options here...maybe more...but 2 obvious. You can start with a provider that does not have stringent screening and build refernces from there...assuming she is willing to provide a reference for you afterwards. Although yor experiences may not be stellar...you can get in the refernce door that way.
Another option...and more recommended in my opinion is the following.
Find a provider that is WELL reviewed and respected from this site and give out the info she desires. Yes you have to give out a little more private info...but if she is well respected and known she will be very discreet. So that minimalizes the risk.
i guess there is a 3rd option...and that is to see someone who is newbie friendly...but i am not sure what info they may require...could be the same for all i know.
  • cnym
  • 03-03-2010, 10:41 AM
If you are contacting one of the best reputable providers that are verified and safe. You should be comfortable giving them all the information that they need.
To me, I agree with all the safety requirements that we go thru here. This is not only for the safety of the provider it is also for the safety of all of us.
On one occasion, I was comfortable not only to provide the requested information, but also a face picture.
The Key thing hers is; Only IF you are contacting a verified and safe provider, I would not give personal information that to anyone that I do not trust.
  • GP
  • 03-03-2010, 11:09 AM
P411

and be active on the board. 2 posts won't cut it.
I said I was new. There, now I have 3 posts.

P411

and be active on the board. 2 posts won't cut it. Originally Posted by GP
  • GP
  • 03-03-2010, 09:26 PM