Is it disrespectful for a lady to make light of our jobs?

A lady made kind of a smart assed quip about my job being not very sexy. At first I just laughed it off. But the more I think about it the more pissed I get since my not-so-sexy job pays the bills. One of which is her.

Thoughts?
one of my fave songs:

i'm a doctor
i'm a lawyer
i'm a movie star
i'm an astronaut
and i own this bar...
i'd lie to you for your love.

i'm guessing your job does not fall into those categories... mine does not either.

JPdM
The important thing is how do you feel about yourself and the job your doing. Don't ever worry about what someone else thinks. Your happiness and well being is all that matters. Just my .02 cents.
Nobody ever likes their Job. (well maybe movies stars do) but none of the rest of us do. I see no reason why anybody should be judgemental about another persons occupation
I see no reason why anybody should be judgemental about another persons occupation Originally Posted by omaha2dallas
That's kinda what's steaming me...I've never looked down my nose at her chosen profession.

Biting the hand that feeds the hand that feeds her.
Job Satisfaction is EVERYTHING. Of course, it has to pay well, too (and there is always a happy median).

...and... You could have done the same with her profession (but don't lower yourself to that level).
So pony up , who was it?
People still take jobs because they're "sexy"? Too bad sexy jobs don't pay for shit.

Cowboys? Broke and disappearing.

Musicians and artists? WAAAAAAAAAAY more of them are starving then have concerts at Red Rocks or openings at the MOMA.

Pilots? All getting laid off.

Soldiers? I was one and I can testify: we didn't make SHIT. There's a reason there's a WIC office on every major military installation. Our wives and children qualified.

Firefighters? Are you kidding me?

So would you rather have a job that's sexy or one that gets you paid?

As for a provider knocking your job, maybe she was giving you the FULL GFE?