Do You Price Match...a Question to Providers?

I work in a store part time and I get asked a lot...Sir, do you price match? My answer is generally "No" but I do give discounts to frequent customers at the store and I help them out as best as I can.

Now I sometimes wonder...

...do Providers ever get asked that question and what is their reaction to it?

If a hobbyist asks you, the Provider...Hey lady, do you price match?

Does it happen often and what do you do?
I'm no provider but I bet the reaction would be one to hear lol.

Also based on what some say though they don't price match when a client ask they certainly don't mind price matching or beating when called for a reference.
I'm no provider but I bet the reaction would be one to hear lol.

Also based on what some say though they don't price match when a client ask they certainly don't mind price matching or beating when called for a reference. Originally Posted by Eccie Addict
I remember the days when I was new to the hobby, I didn't have much money in those days, I would shop around looking for bargains and deals. But I noticed with time and experience, that being cheap would backfire on me a lot. I used to have more "terrible hobby" experiences, than good ones.
For "price matching", the product and/or services would have to be identical.
  • bbkid
  • 03-05-2013, 08:00 AM
.... I noticed with time and experience, that being cheap would backfire on me a lot. I used to have more "terrible hobby" experiences, than good ones. Originally Posted by TheAntichrist666
So, doesn't this thought pretty much sum up your original question?
For "price matching", the product and/or services would have to be identical. Originally Posted by Sarunga
So what I'm hearing is...

I love when my clients ask me that. I'm in high end network engineering and I hear regularly that their old guy did it for $xx and I just reply. Well if he did a good job then you would have never called me.