Hobby social media? I need info!

• BLM69
  • 11-12-2018, 08:48 AM
I wanted to dabble and possibly connect with some social media talent, created a IG account, did a hashtag search #eccie, found a few providers, followed one and 10mins later I get 2 PM's here asking if I followed them and if I just created a IG account lol, I found this odd but not a big deal

I log in today and all my 3-4 post are gone and IG is asking for a phone number? Also noticed that IG is a Facebook product? Is it safe to enter my hobby #? Will my profile pop up when my hobby number or hobby e-mail is searched?
As a security professional, I highly recommend you don't use your ECCIE user name or # in any social media platforms. In fact don't use google, hotmail, or yahoo mail here either. Use Protonmail instead.

stay safe and anonymous!
  • BLM69
  • 11-12-2018, 03:28 PM
As a security professional, I highly recommend you don't use your ECCIE user name or # in any social media platforms. In fact don't use google, hotmail, or yahoo mail here either. Use Protonmail instead.

stay safe and anonymous! Originally Posted by Deep3y3s
I've received a PM from a member familiar with social media with some good advice, I've just updated my gmail hobby e-mail to my protonmail for added security.

Also must add that I'm on VPN on private browser and don't ever use apps for hobby activities. Any more tips
Word on the street that TittyTat3 already has your IP and, possibly, your RWI info already......
Also a security professional. If you used any RW info for the IG account then delete it and create a new account with only hobby info. Never mix RW online accounts with hobby info, or create hobby accounts using some RW info. Always use a VPN and your browser's private mode when visiting eccie or any other hobby sites. Change your passwords every 90 days and don't use the same one for every site.

That's all I got off the top of my head but it's enough for the average consumer.

- dave
And +1 on protonmail