Question about BBBJ

First, I am asking the readers to please keep this thread informative and civil.

Today I saw a documentary on a satellite channel. It was named something like "nude girls unite". This documentary dealt with the subjects of strip clubs and prostitution.

In the program they interviewed a health professional who deals mainly with prostitutes (sex workers as the documentary calls them). During the interview, she mentions that studies that her organization has done, show that sex workers who routinely perform unprotected fellatio (BBBJ) are at higher risk of contracting an STD than from unprotected intercourse.

This commentary went against what I knew (however I am not a health professional) and what I believe is the "common sense" knowledge among the posters in these forums.

Do you have any information (with links to the sources website if possible) that can shed some light on the subject?

Thanks

P.S. Please notice that I am not encouraging anybody to have unprotected oral or vaginal sex because of this comment. I just want information.
Not according to the CDC....

http://www.cdc.gov/hiv/resources/factsheets/oralsex.htm

QUOTE: "Like all sexual activity, oral sex carries some risk of HIV transmission when one partner is known to be infected with HIV, when either partner’s HIV status is not known, and/or when one partner is not monogamous or injects drugs. Even though the risk of transmitting HIV through oral sex is much lower than that of anal or vaginal sex, numerous studies have demonstrated that oral sex can result in the transmission of HIV and other sexually transmitted diseases (STDs).
HPV