Veterans Day

I come from a military family and have a great deal of respect for those who lay their lives down for all Americans.
Today I met a gentleman while I was shopping and he had a Vietnam Veteran t-shirt on, he had his grandson with him. I walked up to him and asked if he served in that war and he said yes. I put out my hand and said “thank you for your service”, he reached out and shook my hand saying “you’re welcome”. My eyes started to fill as I walked away, and as I left, he said, “They won’t let me sign up again!” He said it in a joking fashion, but just the fact that he SAID it, struck a cord in me. I almost lost it.
I have wanted to visit the World War II Museum in New Orleans, but I don’t think I would make it through without making a complete fool of myself by getting emotional.
To all our veterans who have served our country, I say thank you.
I am a veteran, but honestly don't feel like one. I didn't go overseas or really do anything (that I thing anyways) was important. But I do know what it feels like to serve, and I proudly salute all those who did
I did four years of active duty and 25 years in the Guard.

Your welcum!! I would do it again if God would issue me more younger years. Semper Fi!!
I am a veteran, but honestly don't feel like one. I didn't go overseas or really do anything (that I thing anyways) was important. But I do know what it feels like to serve, and I proudly salute all those who did Originally Posted by LovelyLolita