Excuses

What are some good excuses / reasons to tell the SO to get out of the house for an afternoon to go a provider or two?
The problem for a some guys, I think, is that they are so set in their patterns that any deviation draws maybe not necessarily suspicion, but at least a question or two.

If I told my wife I was taking up golf, for example, there's no way she'd believe me. Unlike some guys, I can't plausibly "go look at a boat some guy is selling on craigslist" or spend two hours at Home Depot.

I've been working two jobs for four years. It was easy to "go to the office" on Saturdays when I was seeing the SB. I've kept up the pretense since I got kicked to the curb, in case I ever find someone new, except now I really do go to the office and drink my grief away.

If you don't have one, buy a gun and "go to the range." Find one that you can justify going to that's some distance away. Join a trap/skeet club.

Take up golf or some other sport.

"Play poker" while playing poke-her.

Find or make up a friend or coworker across town, and say you're going to go have a few beers with him. Or maybe he's having a tough time and needs some counseling.

Investigate real estate investing. There are lots of networking opportunities for apartment investors that you can attend or "attend."

"Set up appointments with financial advisers to discuss your portfolio and retirement."

The bottom line is that whatever excuse you make, it has to be compatible with your behavior patterns, OR you need to work into it gradually.
I tell mine I’m going to get a massage course I don’t tell her it has a happy ending!!!
I’ve used the gun range excuse a few times before. It works.

I've thought about going to the pawn shop and picking up a set of golf clubs but I’ve told her before how much I hate wandering around in the woods looking for a golf ball so I don’t know if she would buy that.