is what you say to a therapist kept private?

I would love to see a therapist weekly about life in general, and just to have someone to talk to about my stresses and problems

my question is, can I tell her what i do for a living? If so, is she obligated to keep it to herself or turn me in since i am doing something illegal?

could she be questioned at any point if something were to happen to me, and spill the beans to LE?

Just one of the many worries....see why I need a therapist! lol
A normal guideline for mental health professionals is usually in regard to physical harm to the patient or others. You would probably be fine discussing your work with a therapist; therapy notes are harder to get released and you can always the same sort of generic terms people use on this board to describe things (donations, etc). The big exception to the reporting, of course, is when it is involving abuse/harm to children.

Unfortunately, regulation in regarding to licensing/monitoring people that label themselves as counselors/therapists is wildly divergent from state to state, so make sure to research anyone you may consider seeing and verify that they have legit credentials. Most urban areas have counselors that specialize in alternative lifestyles, so you may want to check there (a local LBGT publication/website is a good place to start).
thanks! i didnt know there were some that specialized in alternative lifestyles! what a great idea!
what is LBGT?
thanks for the info and advice
LesbianBisexualGayTransgender. While you may not be any of those things, therapists that advertise to that community usually will have a more understanding/open/sensitive approach to alternative lifestyles, including 'straight' individuals involved in BDSM or polyamoury relationships, for example. Someone like that may be more understanding about your particular lifestyle and the challenges it presents.
that is really awesome...i never would have thought of looking for someone like that....