Title transfer info

Is there anyone who can walk me through this process? I need detailed info on how to make this transition as smooth and mistake free as possible, because this will be handled via snail mail. I've never done this before, so please be gentle! This is an auto title transfer I'm trying to do.
PM me if you can help educate me.
Thank you.
Louisiana title?
Yes it is.
Yes it is. Originally Posted by Nicolet
i met the seller at a title transfer in metairie handed the seller cash gave the title to the transfer people and they did all the paper work. if it an older car you can tell them u paid $500.00 or less to save on taxes
If you can also ask the seller if they will sign it as a donation will reduce taxes more
As I mentioned, I have no experience with this sort of thing. The state the vehicle is titled in is Louisiana, but the title is physically in TN with the owner who is a family member.
If someone has the knowledge and experience, I would appreciate the assistance with this.
Thank you.
You'll probably need to go to a notary public that does title transfers. They will charge a small fee but will handle everything for you including registering the vehicle with the DMV. I'm sure there's a few in your area just check with one to see what documents they need. Good luck
Thanks. I don't want to register it, I want it gone. Scrap, sold for parts, anything. I would have to dump a boatload of money into it and it just ain't worth it.
http://www.dmv.org/la-louisiana/title-transfers.php

http://www.donateforcharity.com/louisiana/

http://www.kars4kids.org/donate-car-la.asp

Find someone to donate it to and they'll probably take care of the title work and pick it up.
Thank you turbo for the valuable information!
Call BH. In the past they came and got an old car from me, did the title work and gave me a usable receipt for tax purposes.