Why Do Men Go For Cheap Rates?

I always was a firm believer of you get what you pay for cheap does not equal better. I am new to this business and potential clients have told me I am to expensive my current rate is 220 for an hour . I do not feel that is expensive because I bring a lot to the table. Can somebody explain to me why would someone reduce themselves to charging 40& 50 $ and why would a man pay for that?
My only guess is because some of us are ultra cheap and prefer quantity over quality,I however am not one of them.I would much rather pay what some may deem a higher cost for better service any day.
Don't know why some ladies charge so little, but a couple things to think about from the guys point of view. First, there are stories everywhere of guys who find that "diamond in the rough", a provider who provides a great experience at a bargain price. Second, some guys can play and never consider the cost, while some have to sacrifice and save to see a provider. Most clients fall in between these scenarios, but the money spent is significant to most. With that in mind, many will try to meet their needs at the lowest possible cost. Third, there are stories everywhere of guys who paid far more than your rate and had horrible experiences using the "you get what you pay for" theory. Since you seem to be fairly new, at least to ECCIE, remember that your reputation will be made by your service more than your rate.
Rates do not equal a particular type of time.

Guy's reasons for picking certain providers vary so much you would likely get an answer to fit each scenario from at least one guy here. I don't search out the lower cost ladies nor do I look for higher rates. I look for one that fits what I'm looking for