Michigan: Police Search Cell Phones During Traffic Stops

http://www.thetruthaboutcars.com/201...traffic-stops/

Just brainstorm and think of the possibilities. Not the mention the 4th amendment issues.
With the manic fear of so-called "terrorists," I suspect LE will win the court challenges to this practice.
Lock you phones and laptops, and dont give them access. They can not make you give them access without a search warrant. Dont leave it open and available.
Living in Michigan I have not heard a word on the news or anywhere else about the police using this divice and would think if they had used it someone would have said something.....now that does not mean they do not have it and or they could use it if the driver gives them permission....

My first thought was regarding the state of Michigan having a no text and drive law and that was how they would figure out if you where texting when driving
I've read the article. I was a JAG Officer in the Navy. In order for a police Officer to search a vehicle on a Traffic stop he must have and account for his reason through Probable Cause. Now if a Police Officer happens to see Contraband that is in plain view in the vehicle he can search the vehicle further and make an arrest incidental to arrest which of course stems from the traffic ticket he'll be issueing or should be issueing. Now to search a cell phone or computer he must still establish Probable Cause to do that. There must be something that lawfully gives him the right to do so. On the flip side if a motorist gives a Police Officer consent to search his vehicle.The vehicle maybe searched. On another note. A drug Dog outside of a motor vehicle is not considered a search if the drug Dog responds to the vehicle in a mannor which gives the officer reasonable suspicion that contraband is in the vehicle he may search the vehicle without a warrant or consent of the motorist. Now to search a Cell phone or laptop does not fall into the consent or PC to search a vehicle. I