Job Discipline

I'm a manager on my job and maybe with me being a mgr for so long I've lost sight of things. I tend to think that most employees KNOW they're screwing up and shouldn't be caught off guard when finally disciplined for it. I've been written up before and of course I knew I was royally screwin' up but was stilled pissed that my boss would do his job and call me to the carpet on it.

This morning I had to discipline a female employee. I had already given her a verbal warning about a month ago and she was still screwing up. I bring her in today for a write up and this chick gets really emotional! She's crying, telling me that I'm attacking her personally, I haven't spent time with her on her duties. WTF?

So, my question is...if you've had to discipline or had discipline handed down to you why is the shock value so high?
I too am a manager and the SHOCK value is soooooo high because it benefits the employee and they are building a case for a non-supportive manager... thanks to to the ACLU, Lawyers and the like.
@DR, it was crazy!

She was basically pointing fingers @ everyone but herself. She thought it was a personal attack but I pointed out to her that it was all busines, never personal. She's been on the job for 17 yrs so she's figured out how to cut corners. I've only been there for 6 months. But I've already found out who the weak links on my team are and she's one of them. This write-up was just a way of telling her to shit or get off the pot.
I'm sure you're being extra cautious; do not for a second imagine you're being paranoid. She will creep on you when given any opportunity, real or imagined. I've had a shitload of employees and was terrified of all of them. There are employers who are renowned for being good to their hirelings, but even then you're going to be under the frontsight of at least some of them, figuratively anyway. Just ask Mattress Mack.