Real-estate Taxes on my Home

So,
Tarrant county decided to increase the taxes on my home by nearly 50%

So I bought the house two Decembers ago, my first so didn't know the dirty rules of the game. Now the county I'm sure lines it's pockets when property changes hands, sales taxes or fees or something. But I didn't know they also take advantage of a buyer paying too much by immediately presuming the house is worth whatever some dumb sucker (me) was willing to pay.

So is it normal for the appraisal district to appraise a house at it's selling cost even if the selling cost was nearly 50% more than what the house was appraised the previous year AND there have no improvements to the house in years?

Like I said, I'm new to this I don't know how it works.

Need to get something else off my chest while I'm at it: so most new homebuyers I imagine are required to use ecsrow for their taxes and insurance. So the mortgage company throws a number at you for your monthly payment and you're like cool. Next the dirty bastards at the appraisal district are like good new homeowner, let's welcome him proper to the neighborhood and jackup his property value by 50%! Then sometime later on the county sends you a property value statement which I'm like OK... I'm happy with my monthly payments so, unaware of the scheming malicious plot, I don't really pay attention to the notice. Next, the appeal deadline passes. Next your escrow company pays the goddamn county and then they're like oh shit, we didn't get enough money from this guy so they jack up your escrow payment.

Now, when your paymeny goes up you notice something happened. Do your research and discover what they dirty bastards did and discover you can't do anything about it for the past year. Now I can appeal for 2017 taxes and I will. But meanwhile those motherfuckers taxed my house at 50% more than what it was worth and got away with it.

Anyways the point of starting this thread was a question that I need to return to: