Cops and sex with prostitutes - WTF?!

Honolulu police officers have urged lawmakers to keep an exemption in state law that allows undercover officers to have sex with prostitutes during investigations, touching off a heated debate.
Authorities say they need the legal protection to catch lawbreakers in the act.

Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/news/nati...#ixzz2wbc45rlY

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/nati...icle-1.1729144
Well I am a Soldier and I think I should be allowed to do so in the name of National Security!! I wonder how that will go over in court?
We were laughing about this at work. Your tax dollars going toward cops getting laid. There had to be a pay off in there somewhere. I'd be alright with it if they have to pull out and arrest her before they cum. At least the guy would have to go around and have an extra reason for being called the boys in blue.
I don't know what the law is in Hawaii, but engaging in sexual conduct isn't an element of the offense of prostitution in Texas that the state is required to prove. Allowing cops to have sex with hookers to make prostitution cases is problematic, at best. What if the hooker is underage? That would open a Pandora's Box for a police department. Also, I could see defense lawyers diverting attention away from their hooker client to the arresting officer during trial. I'd surmise that Mister or Miss Juror would be appalled at the practice and could acquit defendants as a statement against it.