Contract law v thief

I am not a lawyer. I have read through some of the state laws and I am interested in knowing if I have the following correct. It in part stems from the Texas case of a hooker being shot and killed after she tried a grab and dash.

A john and hooker agree to terms for a session. At this point thay have a contract, Verbal, written, legal does not matter for this case.

Hooker provides services but the guy refuses to pay afterwords. He has broken the contract but she cannot take any legal action for breach of contract or other grounds because a contract for illegal actions or stuff cannot be enforced.

She takes the money but does not provide any services. She takes the money and leaves even after he demands his money back. She has now committed theft as she took his money and refused to return it when he asked for it back and did not provide the services contracted for. The fact that the services contracted and paid for were illegal is not a factor at this point.

Giving her the money would not be considered a gift as he contracted for services. He did not give the money of his own free will with no expectaion of anything in return. I assume that would be the basis for considering it a gift.

Did I summerize that correctly? Am I understanding the basic concepts of the law correctly?

Thanks
I am not a lawyer. I have read through some of the state laws and I am interested in knowing if I have the following correct. It in part stems from the Texas case of a hooker being shot and killed after she tried a grab and dash.

A john and hooker agree to terms for a session. At this point thay have a contract, Verbal, written, legal does not matter for this case.

Hooker provides services but the guy refuses to pay afterwords. He has broken the contract but she cannot take any legal action for breach of contract or other grounds because a contract for illegal actions or stuff cannot be enforced.