Restaurants: A "No Tipping" World....

Coming soon to a restaurant near you.....

http://www.nytimes.com/2015/11/18/di...dern.html?_r=0
I used to work as a sever for a restaurant that now does this. The current servers are not happy, as many of them didn't claim all of their cash tips in the past and their hourly wage is based off an average of claimed tips since they have started working. Although some hours may be slow, but the peak hours always made up for it so to me this is a terrible idea!
I used to work as a sever for a restaurant that now does this. The current servers are not happy, as many of them didn't claim all of their cash tips in the past and their hourly wage is based off an average of claimed tips since they have started working. Although some hours may be slow, but the peak hours always made up for it so to me this is a terrible idea! Originally Posted by MeganTheVixen
I never worked as a server I have a question. The tips that I put on my credit card; how does the server get that? Does the company include in their pay or what. I have looked at my credit card online and sometimes I don't see where the company charge me for the tip. I only see the original amount.
I do own a restaurant and can tell you this is driven by the threat of the $15 minimum wage. If a server does not claim enough in tips to hit minimum wage the employer is responsible to make the difference.
I used to work as a sever for a restaurant that now does this. The current servers are not happy, as many of them didn't claim all of their cash tips in the past and their hourly wage is based off an average of claimed tips since they have started working. Although some hours may be slow, but the peak hours always made up for it so to me this is a terrible idea! Originally Posted by MeganTheVixen