Credit Repair

I was wondering if anyone has an opinion or any experience with credit repair services?

I’ve been working on my credit on my own for a few years, however I am still in the low 600’s.

Does something like this service actually work? Has anyone used one of these services? Are they legal?

Are there any hobbiest here who do this kind of work? I'm not looking to barter, I will pay in cash or paypal.

Thanks,
Brooke
  • Trey
  • 07-05-2012, 07:12 PM
They are a scam if they get one small blockbuster late fee off your credit they claim victory. Don't do it it ain't worth your time.
This kind of service only gives you higher rate of interest, yes they consolidate your other credit (credit cards, etc) into on account but will be higher than most of your credit cards combine.
They're all pretty much scams. Just keep paying your bills on time and your credit will go up. If you have any chargeoffs in your credit history it will take some time.
Most are scams. Some are owned by the credit card companies. Take care of it yourself ... Like funlovin said just pay your bills on time and the credit score will naturally rise.
pay your credit cards a lil earlier and put a lil more per payment .
If you have any chargeoffs in your credit history it will take some time. Originally Posted by funlovin2007
This is the problem I seem to be having. I have stuff on my credit report that is from when I was 18, 19, 20 so we are talking 9 + years ago and it is still on there.

I have wrote letters to all 3 credit reporting agencies and went through the process that each one of them have to remove these items, yet they still remain on my credit report.

How in the heck can I get those off of there?
Best thing probably to pay off all your debt.
Most are scams. Some are owned by the credit card companies. Take care of it yourself ... Like funlovin said just pay your bills on time and the credit score will naturally rise. Originally Posted by pyramider
Interesting. I didn't know that.