Computer crimes

Jon:
Can you refresh us all about what can happen, criminally, or from a civil liability point, if computers or on-line web sites are hacked, with information corrupted or stolen, to the extent that business income is lost, or that monetary damages are incurred? If you could include comments on mis-using data from a stolen/lost smart phone, I would think would be of interest also. Although this activity may not meet Federal criteria, I think board members would be interested in high-lights of laws from various states. If you can comment on laws applicable to a couple states about where the Kansas River ends, I’ll build you a soap box. If you quote extensively from Texas law, it would be a very small soap box. Please close with a bit of generic advice if this type of situation were to damage folks that happen to be board members.
1st I am not a lawyer but hacking as you described it is FEDERAL I believe. cyber crimes are some of the more interesting crimes out there mainly because it is a new and evolving area of criminal activity.
1st I am not a lawyer but hacking as you described it is FEDERAL I believe. cyber crimes are some of the more interesting crimes out there mainly because it is a new and evolving area of criminal activity. Originally Posted by Mr. GPop
Yes except that for Federal, certain damage limits needs to be exceeded and/or certain types of networks/machines need to be hacked. Thus the question of how things that might impact the board members here are probably state items which would be nice to get an update on.
Jon: