How to Anonymously Browse the Web and Send Email

I am not very technically sophisticated. I am looking for an easy and cheap way to anonymously browse the internet and send email. I know there are some free services out there like proxify, but its functionality seems limited. I'm unsure who to trust with all the options out there, both whether they'll do the job right and whether they'll not open me up to some virus. Also, with email, if I already have an account not linked to me, can emails sent from it be traced back to my ip address or is that not something I need to worry about?
research "The TOR project" that should answer your questions
You can also research "VPN."
research "The TOR project" that should answer your questions Originally Posted by Spirit13
Recommend downloading the program on a flash drive - that way, the program would not be on your system...in case someone asks why it is on your system.
Recommend downloading the program on a flash drive - that way, the program would not be on your system...in case someone asks why it is on your system. Originally Posted by plainjoe
I agree.. you can put TOR on a thumby..
Buy a good laptop with CASH
Only browse , Email or whatever at Wireless 'hotspots'
Buy a good laptop with CASH
Only browse , Email or whatever at Wireless 'hotspots' Originally Posted by instfixer
Here is what I do
1) use a laptop at wireless hot spots that do not use a portal page(more on that later)
2) use Linux since it can encrypt the home directory (all my files) at installation
3) use TOR on thumb drive which does not stay with the laptop bag..