Met a WW2 vet today. What he said was heartbreaking

I love my local VA clinic. The VA has been very good to me and I am so grateful for their excellent staff.

I was leaving the clinic, and I saw a man in a wheelchair wearing a WW2 veteran cap. I stopped to shake his hand and thank him for his service.

( My son, who proudly refers to himself as a "Dirty, raging, leftist liberal" taught me that. Being a vet myself, it never occurred to me to thank someone either in uniform or displaying the fact should be thanked. Then I noticed my son doing so and now I do myself.)

Anyway, I asked him a bit about his service and he told me he had been a bombardier in Guam. He said it was unimaginable hell. I told him that there are not many WW2 vets left, and immediately felt horrible for mentioning it. His health was very frail. He looked at me with the saddest blue eyes and said, "I'm not long for this world".

I hugged him, and tried to reassure him all was well. A woman walked up and gave me a look like it was time for me to leave. I felt terrible for him.

And I thought about it, how many times we humans think we are not long for the world. Maybe not that phrase exactly, but what are we doing here and why is life such sad hell sometimes.

If you are ever bored or need something to do to pick yourself up out of the doldrums, visit a veterans hospital, clinic or waiting room. Bake some cookies, or bring some fresh fruit and a smile. Let the staff know you are there to volunteer. I guarantee you will end up meeting some great people and learning alot. The care providers ( can't say much good about the clerical help) but the medical staff are amazing. They earn far less than most in their range and truly care about veterans. You will appreciate the time spent, and walk away with a new appreciation for those who gave so much of their own lives and time to the service of their country.