Question about appointments

I am still pretty new to the hobby. It works better for my schedule if I try to set up appointments a bit in advance, which I understand isn't the easiest for everyone. However, the last two times I have set up appointments a couple of weeks in advance (from the provider ads), the day of the appointment I have received an email that the provider was sick and had to cancel. The first time I took it at face value, but now I'm wondering if this is something that happens a lot? If so, I may have to find a different (better) way to set up my appointments in the future. Thoughts?

Obviously if they were both legitimately ill then that's a different story. I'm not mad at them or anything I just hate to keep setting these up and going through reference checks and stuff if many of them won't be kept. Thanks for any input.
Ya, I had one set up with a well known Omaha provider for a day or 2 then when came time for appointment I was told she had to cancel and wouldn't answer messages.
Yep, I had one set up last week and she cancelled. She did let me know days ahead of time she was sick so I think it was legit. Sometimes I wonder though with the last minute cancellation if they got a better offer or if they have a regular call on them? I don't really blame them for either case but it sucks to be on the other side. Part of the reason I don't like setting up appointments too far in advance.