IRS Expansion: Do The Numbers Add Up?

Between High School and College, I took algebra three times, so I am not that good with numbers. But this morning I got to counting on my fingers and came up with a question or two about the proposed expansion of the IRS.

Looks like they want 87,000 new agents and think that they will cost 80 billion dollars to fund them. There are, I have read, about 400,000 folks who earn over $400,000 a year, and maybe a hundred billionaires in total in the USA.

So then, to break even on this IRS expansion, each new agent will have to find around a hundred-million dollars of new collectable taxes just to cover their own position. Going back over the number of high-end taxpayers above, I don't think there is that much money out there to be taxed.

Did I drop a decimal point, or do I have that anywhere near right?
  • Tiny
  • 08-10-2022, 06:04 AM
80 billion divided by 87,000 is a little less than $1 million per agent.

But that's scary. If you have 87,000 agents going after 400,000 people, that's one agent for every 4.6 people. So if you make over $400,000 a year, one agent will spend about 20% of his time looking at your stuff.

I've been through a couple of audits. The IRS didn't collect anything, but I'd guess for every hour the IRS agent spent on my returns, I had to spend 10 hours putting info together to comply with his requests.

If that holds true, then I guess I'll be spending 4,000 hours a year on my taxes, or double what I now spend working 8 hours a day, 50 weeks a year. In fact, I won't have any time to work any longer. So I won't make any money. And they'll stop auditing me because I'll be below $400,000! It's great how these things have a way of working out!