Netbook Damage - replace or repair?

• ~Ze~
  • 11-08-2010, 07:50 AM
I took my laptop on a recent trip and left my netbook at home. Backwards, I know. Shush... It was a bad decision. It was damaged in the overhead bin, and while on my trip I had insurance fix it with some out of pocket costs.

A week after my return, I grab my netbook to let a friend use it while she is over doing laundry. Fucking fuck! WTF! The screen is shattered. It was sitting in the EXACT place I Left it. The person I had "house sitting" has no clue.. convenient. *glare*

It is a Toshiba NB305-N410BL ... Cost me about 350 new - not long ago.

Should I just replace the whole thing or repair the screen?
what sense does this make putting on the board, buy a new one.
I repair computers for a living. I can get a screen for about $50 US plus tax and shipping. Labor would be about $100. Could be cheaper there. But, there also could be a lot more wrong than just the screen. If the computer has an exterinal monitor port, connect a monitor to it and make sure it actualy works other than the screen.

Of course, if you were local we could work on the labor costs
  • ~Ze~
  • 11-08-2010, 10:27 AM
Oh.. it still works and functions properly.. I can still SEE half of the screen, and navigate pretty well within windows. Nothing else appears damaged. I've had a bad streak with laptops lately... this will be the 3rd screen in a year to shatter. *sigh* and NONE of them were MY fault. Grr...

How hard would it be to replace it myself? I am purty handy with tools, and this thing has like 2 places where the screen and encasement connect. Should I just try? I've dismantled desktops and other electronics, but I have always been a bit nervous about laptops. If I go ahead and go the route of buying the replacement part, would it be better to get JUST the LCD insert or go ahead and look for something inside the encasement? Is that an option?