How long would you wait?

Hey all, I'm new to the hobby with only my first encounter under my belt. Tried to set something up tonight and the provider was quite accommodating to a request for a visit an hr out. Upon arriving at the address at the scheduled time I asked for the room number, but got no reply. I asked again, no reply. After 25 minutes I headed home, and got a text 10 minutes into the drive saying she was ready.

As I'm still wet behind the ears I'm not sure if me taking off was rude or not. My gut said head home & I asked if she would be in town for a bit so we could try to meet again, but have gotten no response. I'm trying to avoid making the wrong kind of name for myself, and I was wondering; how long do you think is reasonable to wait in a parking lot for a provider to get back to you without coming off as suspicious to those who may be watching?
  • Cleo
  • 06-11-2016, 11:42 PM
I don't know that there is a "set" length of time. I guess it's all on the individual. But in my opinion, life happens and sometimes we all run a little late. I'd wait about 15 minutes but only if the lady is responding and let's me know that she's behind schedule. If she has prior knowledge that she'll be late, she should let you know as far in advance as possible so that you can adjust your travels. The same should be said of us if we are in that situation. It's about mutual respect and valuing each other's time. You waited over half an hour, that is extremely patient and understanding of you, considering she was unresponsive. I doubt any reputable provider would give you grief over that. Good luck going forward.
If I have no communication from the provider, I'll wait about 10 minutes before I start heading out. With communication it would depend on the situation.

I think you'll be fine. Most providers I think would understand your leaving. Good luck in the future.