Decision About Drawing Social Security

Next year I will be faced with the decision that all of us will have to make, if we make it that far.

I will turn 66, and will be eligible to draw my full Social Security Benefits, which will be about $3000 a month. Of course, I have no intentions of actually "retiring", I will keep doing exactly what I do as long as my health, (mental and physical), allows.

I have had some say that "why draw it, you will give it all right back in taxes". Well, they won't take it ALL, I figure if I end up with one dollar more, I am ahead.

For you others that are facing this situation in the near future, or have already got there, what are your plans?

My attitude is, I have been paying into the system since I was 14 years old. For the past 15 years I have "maxed out", in other words, I have paid in as much as the Government can take. I would like some of it back.
you will most likely be taxed on 85% of it, and it then will increase your adjusted gross income and therefore enters into other calculations on your return that can diminish deductions or cause AMT to be owed etc.

not knowing your marginal tax rate, but lets say its 30%. 85% times your benefit times your marginal rate of whatever it is, say 30%, is the direct tax in addition to the other things mentioned above that are possibilities.

so $30,000 x .85 x .30 is the tax = $7,650, netting you $22,350 less the medicare thing.

the thing abt social security is, there is no estate benefit, except a $255 death benefit, so if you took it at 66 versus 70 when you would be entitled to the max benefit, thats $22,350* x 4 = $89,400. you could save that and have it available for heirs or your use. no telling when we leave this place ya know.

*subject to cola increases